What happens when you get a DUI in California?
California has tough laws concerning DUI, though the severity of punishment can vary depending on several factors. The state will take the circumstances of your DUI into account, including your level of intoxication, and how much danger you posed to other motorists. If you’ve had multiple DUIs you’ll find your penalty may result in hefty fines and jail time. Assuming it’s your first DUI (or first DUI in 10 years), you’ll be charged with a misdemeanor. Anyone who is lawfully arrested with a blood alcohol content (BAC) over 0.08%, or while clearly “under the influence” of drugs will have their driver’s license confiscated. You’ll be then issued a temporary license that lasts for 30 days, at which point your driving privileges will be suspended or revoked. If you’ve been involved in a car accident that wasn’t entirely your fault, even if you were intoxicated at the time, you may still have a right to seek cash compensation. Contact one of the Los Angeles car accident lawyers at Ellis Law and
The next steps
You will have 10 calendar days from your arrest to request a hearing with the DMV if you want to fight your license suspension. The state will request a chemical test. If you refuse, your license will be suspended for one full year, beginning at the expiration date of your temporary license. Assuming you’re a first offender and you submit a chemical test, you’ll most likely pay a fine between a few hundred and a thousand dollars and must agree to restricted driving for a period of time, usually up to a year. Restricted driving means you’ll only be allowed to drive to work or school, and to a few other places, like doctor’s offices or family member’s homes (if you’re a caregiver). This requires an IID (ignition interlock device) for monitoring, the cost of which will also be your responsibility. You may also be required to take and pay for a DUI prevention class, which can cost between $600 and $1200 dollars, on average. A DUI in California can be quite expensive. If you were in an accident that was partially caused by another driver, you should meet with a personal injury lawyer.
Schedule a free consultation today
Ellis Law is the #1 personal injury law firm in the Los Angeles area, and we have a reputation for fighting hard for our clients. If you’ve been hurt by another driver’s actions, even if you were under the influence at the time, you may still have the right to seek cash compensation. Schedule a 100% free and confidential consultation with a legal expert from our firm today, and we’ll form a clear picture of what exactly happened during your accident. We can direct you to a trusted physician who can properly assess your medical state. A DUI can turn your life upside down, especially if you’re already tight on funds. An attorney from Ellis Law can provide the expert representation you need to recover damages to pay for car repair, medical bills, and more.
A quality legal team with no upfront legal fees
If we decide you have a case, we’ll get to work right away with no money down. Our partners get paid on contingency fees, which means our payment hinges on whether you receive damages or agree to a settlement. Put simply, we don’t get paid unless you win. Should you fail to receive compensation, we won’t get paid a dime. There is absolutely no risk to working with our exceptional firm. Sit down for a free consultation with a personal injury lawyer from Ellis Law and describe every detail of your accident. Only with a professional at your side can you seek the funds you need to get back on your feet.
We’ve won over $350 million for our clients
Though the outcome of every lawsuit is different, we have a proven track record of success fighting for our clients. To us, that figure, $350 million, represents more than a pile of cash; it represents medical bills, mortgage payments, compensation for missed paychecks, and even the fees for DUI classes that have been recovered. When your financial future is on the line, turn to a law firm who knows what it takes to get results.